Robert Toombs Christian Academy held its annual Honors Day, Monday, May 7, at the R.T.C.A. gym. This year’s valedictorian is Emily Hutcheson and salutatorian is Wil Duvall.  After graduation, Emily plans to attend Mercer Univeresity and pursue a PHD in pediatrics. Wil plans on attending Mercer University to play college football while working pursuing a degree in law.  Honor graduates from the class of 2018 are Emily Hutcheson, Wil Duvall, Andi Brinson, Hannah Coursey, Hannah Foskey, Tessa Gibase, Cassi Heath, Anna McComas, Ansley Scott, Francie Stanley, Kate Sullivan and Evan Venable.

Various scholarships were awarded to RTCA seniors. Senior Hannah Coursey received the Scott Meehan Scholarship. The Coca-Cola Scholarship and the Mercer University Scholarship was awarded to Senior Wil Duvall. Senior Emily Hutcheson received the Stewart Family Scholarship and the Larry’s Giant Subs Scholarship. The Georgia Association of FSA Scholarship was awarded to Senior Jarron Guy. Senior KD Frost received the Soap Box Derby/Beauty for a Cause Scholarship. Winner of the Miss R.T.C.A. pageant, Senior Catherine Thigpen, was also awarded a scholarship.

Senior Beta club members were corded by advisor Mrs. Leigh Ann Walden. The Beta members are: Freshmen Carleigh DeFee, Carolina Mead, Kaitlyn reaves, Ashton Sowell, Sophomores Landon Botelho, Hunter Brotman, Kaitlyn Corner, Riley Corner, Christa Fields, TJ Jackson, Cade Jones, MiKayla Manning, Madison Moncus, Sam NeSmith, Samantha Threlkeld, Analise Williams, Fernando Zayas, Juniors Makenzie Harper, Hannah Keene, Cody Masterman-Smith, Jacob McMillan, Shane Moore, Jarod Robertson, Sarah Tuck, Seniors Hannah Coursey, Wil Duvall, Hannah Foskey, Cassie Heath, Emily Hutcheson, Anna McComas, Ansley Scott, Kate Sullivan and Evan Venable.

RTCA provides Dual Enrollment courses for eligible students that wish to take college level coursework for credit towards both high school and college graduation requirements. Move On When Ready students are: Juniors Jarod Robertson, Travis Williams, Cody Masterman-Smith, McKinnley Phillips, Hannah Keene, Roya Adkins, Payton Nance, Mary Hayes Palmer, Sarah Tuck, Claire Walden, Blaine Miller, Shane Moore, Jacob McMillan, Baylee Williamson. Seniors are Anna McComas, KD Frost, Emily Hutcheson, Tessa Gibase, Ansley Scott, Andi Brinson, Francie Stanley, Cassi Heath, Kate Sullivan, Evan Venable, Wil Duvall, Heath DeFee, Jackson Jones and Landon Dukes.

This year’s Honor Roll students included Freshmen Carleigh DeFee, Anna Cuevas-Ortes, Ashton Sowell, Sophomores Analise Williams, Kaitlyn Corner, Madison Moncus, MiKayla Manning, Juniors Hannah Keene, Jacob McMillan, Shane Moore, Kara Sanders, Seniors Hannah Coursey and Ansley Scott. Students who made Yearly Headmaster’s List were Freshmen Austin Akins, Kaitlyn Reaves, Abigail Tapley, Sophomores T.J. Jackson, Landon Botelho, Riley Corner, JJ Jones, Samantha Threlked, Fernando Zayas, Juniors Makenzie Harper, Sarah Tuck, Cody Masterman-Smith, Seniors Kate Sullivan, Cassi Heath, Evan Venable, Emily Hutcheson and Tessa Gibase.

Teachers awarded students with Subject Awards in History, English, Math Science, Art and Spanish. History awards were given to Freshman Kaitlyn Reaves, Sophomores MiKayla Manning, T.J. Jackson, Juniors Makenzie Harper, Cody Masterman-Smith, and Seniors Wil Duvall and Evan Venable. English awards were given to Freshman Katie McDuffie, Kaitlyn Reaves, Sophomores MiKayla Manning, T.J. Jackson, Landon Botelho, Juniors Kara Sanders, Sterling Damron, Cody Masterman-Smith and Senior Evan Venable. Math awards were accepted by Freshman Abigail Tapley, Kaitlyn Reaves, Analise Williams, MiKayla Manning, Juniors Cody Masterman-Smith, Makenzie Harper, Seniors Kate Sullivan and Zack Pendergrass. Science awards were accepted by Freshman Trey Brant, Austin Akins, Sophomores JJ Jones, Samantha Threlkeld, Juniors Fernando Zayas, Makenzie Harper, Sarah Tuck, Seniors Sterling Damron and Emily Hutcheson. Sophomore Samantha Threlked was awarded the Art subject award. Juniors Fernando Zayas and Sarah Tuck were award the Spanish subject awards.

Overall Academic Average Awards were given to high school students who received the highest and second highest overall averages. Freshman Kaitlyn Reaves received the highest overall and Austin Akins received second highest. Sophomores Fernando Zayas received the highest overall and T.J. Jackson received the second highest. Sarah Tuck received the highest overall and Cody Masterman-Smith received the second highest over for the Junior class. For the Seniors, Evan Venable received the highest overall and Wil Duvall and Emily Hutcheson tied for second highest overall.

The Upper School Teacher of the Year is Mrs. Terri Kennedy. She is in her 38th year of teaching, 13 years in Toombs County, 20 years in Vidalia City and 5 years at RTCA.  Mrs. Kennedy received her Bachelor of Science in Ed (K-8) and Master’s in Education from Georgia Southern College.  She also received her Ed Specialist Degree from Georgia Southern University. She has taught Pre-Algebra, Algebra I and Algebra II throughout her teaching career and continues to encourage students to always do their best.

Sarah Tuck, Cody Masterman-Smith, Hannah Keene and Jarod Robertson were recognized as Junior Marshalls.

R.T.C.A. is very proud of this year’s Seniors and looks forward to their many achievements in their post secondary education choices.




Pictured: Teacher of the Year Terri Kennedy and Salutatorian Wil Duvall and Valedictorian Emily Hutcheson